
        

 

 
 

      
  
 

      

  

      

   
 

 

 

 

      

     
 

  

   

   
 

   
    

 

 

 
  

      

          

 
 

 

    

    
 

   

   
    

 

  
 

    
 

     

     

   
 

 
 

  

 

 

  
      

    
    

     

  

       

  
 

 

      
 

  

 

  

  
  

     

    

          
         

      
         

         
         

 

   

 
   

    

    

    

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

  
 

 

 

TANGIBLE PERSONAL PROPERTY TAX RETURN GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS 

Complete MCPA DR-405 in accordance with the instructions 
provided herein as your declaration of personal property located 
in Manatee County. If any schedule has insufficient space, attach 
a separate sheet. Please print or type, except for signature. 

Each return is eligible for an exemption up to $25,000. By filing 
a DR-405 timely, you automatically apply for the exemption. 
If you do not file on time, Florida law provides for the loss of the 
$25,000 exemption. 

If requested, the Property Appraiser will grant a filing extension 
for 30 days. Your request for extension must be received in our 

1stoffice PRIOR to the April filing deadline. Additional 
information regarding online extension requests may be found 
on our website at www.manateepao.gov. 

WHAT TO REPORT ON THIS RETURN: 

1) Tangible Personal Property. Include all goods, 
chattels, and other articles of value (but not certain 
vehicles) capable of manual possession and whose chief 
value is intrinsic to the article itself. Tangible Personal 
Property is everything other than real estate that has 
value by itself. Examples: furniture, fixtures, 
equipment, signs, leasehold improvements, supplies, 
leased equipment and any other equipment used in a 
business or to earn income. 

2) Equipment or Inventory held for lease. Examples: 
equipment, furniture, or fixturesafter their first leaseor rental. 

3) Equipment on some vehicles. Examples: power cranes, 
air compressors, and other equipment used primarily as a 
tool rather than a hauling vehicle. 

4) Property personally owned, but used in the business. 

5) Fullydepreciateditems,whetherwrittenoffornot,mustbe 
reported at original installed cost. 

DONOTINCLUDE: 
Intangible Personal Property. Examples: money, all 

1) evidence of ownership in a corporation, etc. 

2) Household Goods. Examples: wearing apparel, appliances, 
furniture, and other items ordinarily found in the home and 
used for the comfort of the owner and his family and NOT 
used for commercial purposes, such as rental property. 

3) Most automobiles, trucks, and other licensed vehicles. 
See 3 above. 

4) Inventory that is for sale as part of your business. Items 
commonly referred to as goods, wares, and merchandise that 
are held for sale. Also, inventory is construction and agricultural 
equipment weighing 1,000 pounds or more that is returned to a 
dealership under a rent-to-purchase option and held for sale to 
customers in the ordinary course of business.   See section 
192.001(11)(c), Florida Statutes. 

LOCATION OF PERSONAL PROPERTY: 

Report all property located in this county on January 1st. You 
must file a single return for each site in the county where you 
transact business. If you have freestanding property at multiple 
sites other than where you transact business, file a separate, but 
single, return for all such property located in the county detailing 
the physical location for each piece of equipment. 

Examples of freestanding property at multiple sites include 
vending and amusement machines, LP/propane tanks, utility, 
telecom and cable company property, billboards, leased 
equipment, and similar property not customarily located in the 
offices, stores, or plants of the owner, but is placed throughout 
the county. 

SPECIFIC FORM INSTRUCTIONS: 
Schedule #1 – Leased,  Loaned or Rented Equipment: 
If you borrow, rent or lease equipment from others, complete 
this section. 

Schedule #2 – Owned by You but Rented to Others: 
If you own equipment that is borrowed, rented, leased, or held 
by others, complete this section. 

Schedule #3 – Current Asset Confirmation: 
If you filed a personal property tax return last year, Schedule #3 
will reflect the assets in our records. Please see reverse side of 
this form for specific instructions for review and updates to 
Schedule #3. 

Schedule #3 – Asset Additions: 
If you have added an asset, enter the Description of the Asset, 
Year Acquired, and Number of Units in the appropriate column. 

Report 100% of the total original cost of the asset in the column 
labeled “Original Installed Cost Per Unit.” Enter only unadjusted 
figures in “Original Installed Cost Per Unit” columns. The original 
cost must include the total original installed cost of your equipment, 
before any allowance for depreciation. Include sales tax, freight-in, 
handling, and installation costs. If you deducted a trade-in from the 
invoice price, enter the total gross invoice price of the new asset. 
Add back investment credits taken for federal income tax if you 
deducted those from the original cost.  Include all fully depreciated 
or expensed items at original cost, whether written off or not. 

List each item of tangible personal property separately in the 
appropriate schedule except for “classes” of personal property. 
A class is defined as items which are SUBSTANTIALLY 
SIMILAR IN FUNCTION, USE AND AGE. Do not use “various” 
in any of the columns. This is not an adequate response and 
may subject you to penalties for failure to file. 

For each asset, report the Taxpayer’s Estimate of Condition 
(Good, Average, Poor), and the Taxpayer’s Estimate of Fair 
Market Value. Florida law requires your estimate of the 

Farm, Grove, and Dairy Equipment: 

List all types of agricultural equipment you owned on January 
1st. Describe property by type, manufacturer, model number, 
and year acquired. Examples: bulldozers, draglines, mowers, 
balers, tractors, all types of dairy equipment, pumps, hand and 
power sprayers, heaters, discs, fertilizer distributions. 

Hotel, Motel, Apartment & Rental Units (Household Goods): 

List all household goods. Examples: furniture, appliances, and equipment 
used in rental or other commercial property. Both residents and nonresidents 
must report if a house, condo, apartment, etc. is rented at any time during 
the year. 

Leasehold Improvements, Physical Modifications to Leased 
Property: 

If you have made any improvements, including modifications 
and additions, to property that you leased, list the original cost of 
the improvements. Group them by type and year of installation. 

Supplies: 

Enter the average cost of supplies that are on hand. Include 
expensed supplies, such as stationery and janitorial supplies, 
linens, and silverware, which you may not have recorded 
separately on your books. Include items you carry in your 
inventory account but do not meet the definition of “inventory” 
subject to exemption. 

Renewable Energy Source Devices: 

List all renewable energy source devices as defined in section 
193.624, F.S. Section 196.182, F.S., provides an exemption to 
renewable energy source devices considered tangible 
personal property. The exemption is granted based on the 
percentage of value, when the devices are installed, and 
what type of property the devices are installed on. 

PENALTIES: 

Failure to file – 25% of the total tax levied against the property 
for each year that no return is filed. 

Filing late – 5% of the total tax levied against the property 
covered by that return for each year, each month, and part of a 
month, that a return is late, but not more than 25% of the total tax. 

Unlisted property – 15% of the tax attributable to the omitted 
property. 

RELATED FLORIDA TAXLAWS 

F.S. 192.042 
F.S. 193.052 
F.S. 193.062 
F.S. 193.063 
F.S. 193.072 
F.S. 193.073 
F.S. 193.074 
F.S. 195.027(4) 
F.S. 196.183 
F.S. 837.06 

current fair market value of the property as of January 1st . 

Examples: slat walls, carpeting, paneling, shelving, cabinets. 
Attach an itemized list or depreciation schedule of the individual 
improvements. 

www.manateepao.gov


 

 
 

  

 

  

 

   
 

     
     

  

 
  

   
      

       
   

    
 
  
   
   
   

  

    
      

   

 

SAMPLE OF COMPLETED TAX RETURN 
GENERAL SECTION, QUESTIONS 1-10a - Please verify printed data from our records. If data has changed, is incorrect or not reflected, 
please correct on form. If property has been sold, complete line 10 and 10a, sign form and return to us with a copy of the Bill of Sale. 
SCHEDULE #1 - List any leased, loaned or rented equipment in your possession on January 1st. Attach additional sheets if necessary. 
SCHEDULE #2 - List any equipment you own but was out on loan, rent or lease to others on January 1st. Attach additional sheets if necessary. 
SIGNATURE BLOCK - Be sure to date & sign your return. The return is considered incomplete without a valid signature. 

THIS RETURN IS SUBJECT TO AUDIT WITH ALL RECORDS KEPT BY YOU, INCOMPLETE ENTRIES ARE SUBJECT TO PENALTIES. 

1. Contact information for owner or person in charge. 5a. Although my fiscal year ended prior to December 31 of the past calendar year, this return 
Name _________________________________________ Tel. # ___________________________ reflects property additions and deletions through December 31. Yes_____ No_____ 
Cell #______________________________ Fax #_______________________________ 6. Describe type or nature of your business ______________________________________ 
E-mail address ____________________________________________________________ 7. Trade Levels (Circle as many as apply) Retail Wholesale Manufacturing
Corp Name/DBA __________________________________________________________ 

Professional Service Agriculture Leasing/Rental Other
2. Physical location of this property (on January 1st) 

8. Did you file a tangible personal property return in this county last year? ___________________________________________________________________________________ 
3. Is your business or farm located within the incorporated limits of a city? Yes _____ No _____ If yes, under what name and address? ____________________ 

Yes _____ No _____ If Yes, what City? ____________________________________________ ________________________________________________________________________________ 

4. Do you file a tangible personal property tax return under any other name? 9. Former owner of the business _________________________________________________ 
Yes _____ No _____ If yes, please show name exactly as it appeared on your most 10. If business sold, to whom?______________________________ Date _____________ 
recent personal property tax bill or current return ______________________________ 10a.Were all assets sold? Yes _____ No _____ Sale price? _______________________ 

5. Date you began business in this county _______________________________________ Attach Bill of Sale 
Fiscal Year From ___________________________ To _____________________________ 

SCHEDULE #1 
LEASED, LOANED, AND RENTED EQUIPMENT (COMPLETE IF YOU HOLD EQUIPMENT BELONGING TO OTHERS.) LEASE 

PURCHASE 
CONTRACT YEAR MONTHLY ORIGINAL OPTION 

NAME AND ADDRESS OF OWNER OR LESSOR NUMBER ASSET DESCRIPTION ACQUIRED TERM RENT INSTALLED COST YES NO 

SCHEDULE #2 
EQUIPMENT OWNED BY YOU BUT RENTED, LEASED, OR HELD BY OTHERS 

NAME/ADDRESS OF LESSEE
ACTUAL PHYSICAL LOCATION YEAR MONTHLY 

LEASE NO. OF ASSETS DESCRIPTION AGE ACQUIRED RENT TERM 

TAXPAYER’S ESTIMATE OF 
CONDITION 

FAIR (GOOD)
MARKET (AVG.)
VALUE (POOR) 

ORIGINAL INSTALLED 
COST NEW 

I declare I have read this tax return and the accompanying schedues and 
statements. The facts in them are true. If prepared by someone other than the 
taxpayer, the preparer signing this return certifies that this declaration is 
based on all information he or she has knowledge of. 

DATE _____________ TITLE ___________________________________________________ 

SIGNATURE ______________________________________________________________________ 
(TAXPAYER) 

SIGNATURE ______________________________________________________________________ 
(PREPARER) 

ADDRESS ____________________________________________________________________ 

PREPARER’S ID _____________________________ PHONE NO ___________________ 

LESS EXEMPTION: [ ] WIDOW [ ] WIDOWER [ ] BLIND 
[ ] $25,000 [ ] TOTAL DISABILITY [ ] OTHER 

NOTICE: IF YOU ARE ENTITLED TO A  WIDOW’S, WIDOWER’S, OR DISABILITY EXEMPTION ON 

PERSONAL PROPERTY (NOT ALREADY CLAIMED ON REAL ESTATE), CONSULT YOUR APPRAISER. 

SIGN AND DATE YOUR RETURN. SEND THIS ORIGINAL RETURN TO THE 
MANATEE COUNTY PROPERTY APPRAISER’S OFFICE BY APRIL 1st. 
FAILURE TO FILE YOUR RETURN AS REQUIRED WILL RESULT IN LOSS OF 
YOUR TPP EXEMPTION. UNSIGNED RETURNS CANNOT BE ACCEPTED BY THE 
APPRAISER’S OFFICE. QUESTIONS PLEASE CALL (941) 748-8208. 

TAXABLE VALUE 

DEPUTY PENALTY 

ALL INFORMATION ON BOTH SIDES MUST BE COMPLETED IN FULL TO BE A VALID RETURN 

TURN FORM OVER - ALL INFORMATION ON BOTH SIDES MUST BE COMPLETED IN FULL TO BE A VALID RETURN 

2023 TANGIBLE PERSONAL PROPERTY ASSET SCHEDULE #3 
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EXPLANATION TAXPAYER’S 
Parcel # ____________________9000-000000-0 ______________ OF ADJUSTED ESTIMATE OF 

ADJUSTED ORIGINAL CONDITION TAXPAYER’S 
ORIGINAL APPR ORIGINAL INSTALLED COST, (GOOD) ESTIMATE OF 

INSTALLED USE INSTALLED CHANGED, (AVG.) FAIR MARKET 
ASSET ID DESCRIPTION COST PER UNIT ONLY COST REMOVED OR SOLD (POOR) VALUE 

10 000001 TELEPHONE 00 1 50 
10 000002 DESK 00 1 125 
10 000003 FAX MACHINE 10 1 249 
10 000004 CHAIRS 01 2 25 
10 000005 STOOLS 01 2 50 
11 000006 COMPUTER 09 1 849 
11 000007 PRINTER 09 1 189 
11 000008 MODEM 09 1 80 
10 000009 PRINTER TABLE 00 1 120 
23 000010 SUPPLIES 800 

TOTAL ORIGINAL INSTALLED COST 2612 CONTINUE ON SEPARATE SHEET IF NECESSARY 

SCHEDULE #3 - IF YOU FILED A PERSONAL PROPERTY TAX RETURN LAST YEAR, SCHEDULE #3 WILL DISPLAY THE “DESCRIPTION,” 
“YEAR ACQUIRED,” AND “ORIGINAL INSTALLED COST PER UNIT” OF EACH ITEM WITHIN OUR RECORDS. PLEASE VERIFY EACH ASSET IN 
THE FOLLOWING MANNER: 
 If you still have the asset listed, place an “S” in the column marked “Same (S).” 
 Place a “C” in the column marked “Changed (C)” if the original installed cost of the asset or group of assets has changed. For example, if a group 

of assets were reported at one cost and a portion of the assets were sold or disposed of during the year, place a “C” in the appropriate column 
and record the adjusted original installed cost in the column marked “Adjusted Original Installed Cost.” 

 Place an “R” in the column marked “Removed (R)” if the asset or group of assets were physically disposed of prior to January 1st. 
 Place an “X” in the column marked “Sold” and provide explanation. 
 Please explain any “C” or “R” entry in the explanation column. Attach additional sheets if necessary. 
 Enter taxpayer’s estimate of condition and fair market value as of January 1st. 
 List description, year acquired and original installed cost per unit for any assets not reflected on the asset schedule. 
 List description, year acquired and original installed cost per unit for any assets purchased or acquired since your last return was filed. (Property 

Appraiser will enter sum line type and asset ID#) 
FINAL INSTRUCTIONS 
 Attach any additional schedules or supplemental information to return.  Be sure to sign the front of return. 
 Return to Property Appraiser’s Office in the enclosed envelope.  All returns must be postmarked by April 1st to avoid penalties 

and loss of TPP exemption. 

MCPA DR-405 (R.12/22) 


